## ADMINISTRATION.

House of Commons shall consist of 234 members, distributed by provinces as follows: Prince Edward Island 3, Nova Scotia 16, New Brunswick 11, Quebec 65, Ontario 82, Manitoba 15, Saskatchewan 16, Alberta 12, British Columbia 13 and Yukon Territory 1. This Act will take effect after dissolution of the present (12th) Parliament. Tables showing the population and representation in the House of Commons according to the districts of the Representation Acts were included in the Canada Year Book of 1913, pp. 587–593. A numerical record of the parliamentary representation at different dates since Confederation was published in previous issues of the Year Book (see Year Book 1911, p. 28).

## 1.—Governors General of Canada, 1867-1915.

Name.	Date of appointment.	Date of assumption of office.
Viscount Monck, G.C.M.G. Lord Lisgar, G.C.M.G. (Sir John Young) The Earl of Dufferin, K.P., K.C.B., G.C.M.G. The Marquis of Lorne, K.T., G.C.M.G. The Marquis of Lansdowne, G.C.M.G. Lord Stanley of Preston, G.C.B. The Earl of Aberdeen, K.T., G.C.M.G. The Earl of Minto, G.C.M.G. The Earl Grey, G.C.M.G. Field-Marshal H.R.H. the Duke of Connaught, K.G.	Dec. 29, 1868 May 22, 1872 Oct. 5, 1878 Aug. 18, 1883 May 1, 1888 May 22, 1893 July 30, 1898 Sept. 26, 1904	Feb. 2, 1869 June 25, 1872 Nov. 25, 1878 Oct. 23, 1883 June 11, 1888 Sept. 18, 1893 Nov. 12, 1898 Dec. 10, 1904

## 2.—Dominion Parliaments, 1867-1915.

Number of Parliaments.	Ses- sion.	Date of Opening.	Date of Prorogation.	Days of ses- sion.	Elections, writs returnable, dissolu- tions and length of Parliaments.
$\operatorname{Parliament} \dots \left\{ egin{array}{c} 1st \\ \operatorname{Parliament} \dots \end{array} \right.$	1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th	Nov. 6, 1867 April 15, 1869 Feb. 15, 1870 Feb. 15, 1871 April 11, 1872	May 22, 1868 June 22, 1869 May 12, 1870 April 14, 1871 June 14, 1872	118 <sup>1</sup> 69 87 59 65	Aug., Sept., 1867 <sup>3</sup> Sept. 24, 1867. <sup>4</sup> July 8, 1872. <sup>5</sup> 4 y., 9m., 15 d <sup>6</sup>
$rac{2  ext{nd}}{ ext{Parliament}} \; \left\{  ight.$	$rac{1 ext{st}}{2 ext{nd}}$	Mar. 5, 1873 Oct. 23, 1873	Aug. 13, 1873 Nov. 7, 1873	81 <sup>2</sup> 16	(July, Aug., Sept. '72 <sup>3</sup> Sept. 3, 1872. <sup>4</sup> Jan. 2, 1874. <sup>5</sup> (1y., 4 m., 0 d <sup>6</sup>
$3 \operatorname{rd} $ $\mathbf{Parliament} \dots$	1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th	Mar. 26, 1874 Feb. 4, 1875 Feb. 10, 1876 Feb. 8, 1877 Feb. 7, 1878	May 26, 1874 April 8, 1875 April 12, 1876 April 28, 1877 May 10, 1878	62 64 63 80 93	Jan. 22, 1874. Feb. 21, 1874. Aug. 17, 1878. Jan. 25 d <sup>6</sup>

¹Adjourned from 21st December, 1867, to 12th March, 1868, to allow the Local Legislatures to meet. ²Adjourned 23rd May till 13th August. ³Period of general elections. ⁴Writs returnable. ⁵Dissolution of Parliament. ⁵Duration of Parliament in years, months and days. The life of a Parliament is counted from the date of return of election writs to the date of dissolution, both days inclusive.